(336) 334-5770

Weatherspoon Arts Foundation

The Weatherspoon Arts Foundation was established in 1990 as a private non-profit organization to hold title to the permanent collection of the Weatherspoon Art Museum. By an operating agreement, the Foundation delegates full management responsibility for the collection to the university and, in turn, to the professional staff of the museum. The collection is maintained for teaching, research and public service purposes exclusively for the use and benefit of the University. The Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors, nominated by the Foundation and approved by the University Board of Trustees. The Foundation accepts all gifts and purchases for the collection and must approve all works recommended for deaccession.

Weatherspoon Art Foundation

Skip Moore, President
Kathy Craft, Vice President
Beth Fischer, Secretary
Charles Maimone, Treasurer

Board of Directors

To serve through June 2019:
Frank Auman
Kathy Craft
Fran Davis
Lyle Humphrey
Eugene LeBauer
Richard Levy
Skip Moore
Bradshaw Orrell 

To serve through June 2020:
Margaret Benjamin
John Davis
David Freilich
Jacquelean Gilliam
Jeanette Cone Kimmel
Katherine Phillips
Timothy Warmath

To serve through June 2021:
Robin Barefoot
Marianne Bennett
Beth Boulton
Carolyn Green
Franklin McCain
Skip Moore
Rodney Ouzts
Kim Richmond

To serve through June 2022:
Lindsay Auman
Chris Cope
Kathy Craft
Fran Davis
Lyle Humphrey
Barbara Kretzer
Richard Levy
Bradshaw Orrell

Executive Committee:
Skip Moore, President
Kathy Craft, Vice President
Beth Fischer, Secretary, VC Advancement
Charles Maimone, Treasurer, VC Business Affairs*
Nancy M. Doll, Director*
Fran Davis, at-large
Richard Levy, at-large
Rodney Ouzts, at-large

* Ex-officio

Learn about
the Collection

The permanent collection of the Weatherspoon Art Museum is considered to be one of the foremost of its kind in the Southeast. It represents all major art movements from the beginning of the 20th century to the present. Of the nearly 6,700 works in the collection are pieces by such prominent figures as Sol LeWitt, Robert Mangold, Cindy Sherman, Al Held, Alex Katz, Henry Tanner, Louise Nevelson, Mark di Suvero, Deborah Butterfield, and Robert Rauschenberg. The museum regularly lends to major exhibitions nationally and internationally.

Free Admission + Free Parking

Tue-Wed-Fri: 10am-5pm
Thu: 10am-9pm
Sat-Sun: 1-5pm
Closed Mondays + holidays

Weatherspoon Art Museum
UNC Greensboro
Corner of Spring Garden + Tate Streets
Greensboro, NC 27402
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram