(336) 334-5770

Weatherspoon Art Museum Council

2022-23 WAM Council. Photo (l to r) back row: John Gibbs, Lewis Dancy (outgoing co-chair), Tim Warmath (outgoing co-chair); (l to r) front row: Martha Thompson, Rebecca Buffington, Carolyn Green, Ruth Heyd (incoming chair), Sydney Gingrow, Katie Cone, Sally Cone, Rodney Ouzts. Not pictured: Maggie Basu, Jasmine Beard, Lloyd Douglas, Jacqulean Gilliam, Nancy Hoffmann, Franklin McCain, Brandy Nash, Katherine Phillips, Rachel Walker, and Jill White. Photo: Harvey Robinson, 2023. Artwork: Huma Bhabha, Receiver, 2019. Bronze, 98 3/4 x 18 x 25 in. Edition 3/4. Weatherspoon Art Museum. Purchase with funds from the Tannenbaum-Sternberger Foundation in memory of Leah Louise B. Tannenbaum, the Weatherspoon Art Museum Acquisition Endowment, the Weatherspoon Guild Acquisition Endowment, and by exchange. © Huma Bhabha, photo courtesy of the artist; David Zwirner, New York; and Salon 94, New York
The purpose of the Weatherspoon Art Museum Council (WAMC) is to support the Weatherspoon Art Museum’s mission and serve as the advisory body of the Weatherspoon Art Museum at UNC Greensboro. The WAMC holds the museum’s collection in trust on behalf of UNC Greensboro for the education, well-being, and enjoyment of the university community, the people of North Carolina, and beyond.

WAMC supports the museum’s mission and advances the museum’s capacity to:

●  Build, manage, and preserve an increasingly diverse and significant collection
●  promote access to the museum and its resources through a demonstrated commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion
●  amplify the visibility, reputation, and accessibility of the museum
●  secure resources to support all areas of the museum’s operations and collections

WAM Council News, June 2023

The Weatherspoon Art Museum is pleased to announce the appointment of four new members to the Weatherspoon Art Museum Council: Kerri Mubaarak, Sherrill Roland, Dabney Sanders, and Erica Weissburg to the Council, Their initial three year term starts on July 1, 2023. These new members bring a wealth of knowledge and diverse practical experience to their service on the Council.

Juliette Bianco, the Anne and Ben Cone Memorial Endowed Director of the museum said, “Volunteer leadership has been integral to the Weatherspoon Art Museum’s values since its founding. We are thrilled to welcome these new members to the Council, whose wisdom and expertise will provide guidance and support to the museum as we chart our future.”

The Weatherspoon Art Museum Council brings together art and education lovers and supporters and artists from North Carolina and beyond to champion the museum’s mission and purpose as an integral part of UNC Greensboro.

The four new members, which combine expertise across the non-profit and arts worlds, will join a Council eager for the opportunities ahead.

Ruth Heyd, incoming Chair of the WAMC, had this to say, “I am filled with excitement for the future of the Weatherspoon and its growing engagement throughout the greater communities outside campus. We couldn’t do this without our volunteers and community members that say “YES” to serving on our Council. I’m thrilled with our new members and what they will bring to our discussions. Their voices are a key mix to ensure that we will continue to represent our communities that we serve.”





Kerri Mubaarak is a Greensboro-based theater artist with her own development company, Scrapmettle Entertainment Group. Kerri has written and produced a number of devised performances with her theater community in Greensboro, NC.  She is an advocate for the arts, artists and the advancement of expressive art therapies. 

Sherrill Roland is a North Carolina-based artist and UNC Greensboro graduate, whose interdisciplinary practice deals with concepts of innocence, identity, and community, reimagining their social and political implications in the context of the American criminal justice system. Sherrill’s work is represented in the Weatherspoon’s collection by a series of works titled Artfors and was featured in the 2022 Art on Paper exhibition. He is represented by Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York.

Dabney Sanders works as the Project Manager for the Downtown Greenway – a collaborative project of Action Greensboro and the City of Greensboro.  Dabney has served as a board member and volunteer for a variety of arts based non-profits including Greensboro Bound, Eastern Music Festival, GreenHill Center for NC Art, Triad Stage, elsewhere, and the Public Art Endowment. She and her husband Walker were recently recognized by the UNCG Board of Trustees as recipients of the Holderness/Weaver award for their exemplary public service to the city of Greensboro.

Erica Weissburg has a background in interior design, with a degree from Parsons School of Design, and has lived in Greensboro since 1992. As a volunteer, Erica has served on the Boards of the Community Foundation of Greater Greensboro, the Weatherspoon Art Museum and the Greensboro Jewish Federation, where she co-chaired the 2019 Annual Campaign. She is currently on the Board of the Jewish Foundation of Greensboro. 

New WAM Council Members

Maggie Basu
Jasmine Beard
Rebecca Buffington
Katie Cone
Sally Cone
Lewis Dancy
Lloyd Douglas
John Gibbs
Sydney Gingrow
Carolyn Green
Ruth Heyd
Nancy Hoffmann
Franklin McCain
Kerri Mubaarak
Brandy Nash
Rodney Ouzts
Sherrill Roland
Dabney Sanders
Martha Thompson
Rachel Walker
Erica Weissburg
Jill White

Free Admission + Free Parking

Tue-Wed-Fri-Sat: 10am-5pm
Thu: 10am-8pm
Closed Sundays, Mondays + holidays

Weatherspoon Art Museum
UNC Greensboro
500 Tate Street
Greensboro, NC 27402
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram